First Cubby

Preschools in San Francisco

12 preschools near San Francisco, CA, including Montessori and other private programs. Compare approach, tuition, hours, and location — then save your shortlist.

Mission Montessori

50 Fell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Montessori · Inquire

A Montessori preschool located in the Hayes Valley neighborhood of San Francisco.

🛡️ State licensing record — Licensed · capacity 184 · 0 serious deficiencies (Type A) · 2 minor · 3 substantiated complaints · last inspected 9/8/2026.
CA Community Care Licensing · license 384004587, 384004588. The state publishes counts and outcomes, not the allegation text — request the full report from CDSS with the control number. How to read this record →

Montessori School of San Francisco

1550 Eddy Street, San Francisco, CA 94115
Montessori · Inquire

A Montessori school in the Western Addition neighborhood serving infants through preschoolers.

🛡️ State licensing record — Licensed · capacity 66 · 0 serious deficiencies (Type A) · 0 substantiated complaints · last inspected 4/16/2026.
CA Community Care Licensing · license 380505730, 384000667. The state publishes counts and outcomes, not the allegation text — request the full report from CDSS with the control number. How to read this record →
Program details (from the school's own site)
Approach: Combines the traditional Montessori method with preschool academia; focus areas are Practical Life, Mathematics, Language Arts and Cultural Arts
Ages served: Infants; toddlers 2-3 years; preschool 3-5 years
Calendar: Year-round

Creative Montessori Preschool

3101 Vicente Street, San Francisco, CA 94116
Montessori · Inquire

A Montessori preschool in the Outer Sunset neighborhood of San Francisco.

🛡️ State licensing record — Licensed · capacity 52 · 0 serious deficiencies (Type A) · 0 substantiated complaints · last inspected 5/5/2026.
CA Community Care Licensing · license 384004021. The state publishes counts and outcomes, not the allegation text — request the full report from CDSS with the control number. How to read this record →

Montessori Children's House of the West Coast

25 Lake Street, San Francisco, CA 94118
Montessori · Inquire

A Montessori school in the Inner Richmond neighborhood of San Francisco.

🛡️ State licensing record — Licensed · capacity 60 · 0 serious deficiencies (Type A) · 0 substantiated complaints · last inspected 7/1/2025.
CA Community Care Licensing · license 380503970. The state publishes counts and outcomes, not the allegation text — request the full report from CDSS with the control number. How to read this record →
Published tuition (from the school's own site)
  • Red · 8:00-11:30 (ages 2y10m-5) — $20,050/year
  • Blue · 8:00-1:30 (ages 2y10m-5) — $24,300/year
  • Yellow · 8:00-3:00 (ages 2y10m-4) — $27,190/year
  • Yellow + Extended Day I · 8:00-4:00 — $29,200/year
  • Yellow + Extended Day II · 8:00-5:00 — $31,700/year
  • Yellow + Extended Day III · 8:00-5:30 — $32,580/year
  • Green · 8:00-3:00 (ages 4-5) — $29,315/year
  • Green + Extended Day I · 8:00-4:00 — $31,580/year
Program details (from the school's own site)
Approach: Montessori method
Ages served: 2 years 10 months to 5 years
Hours: Programs start 8:00am; end 11:30am / 1:30pm / 3:00pm, with Extended Day to 4:00, 5:00 or 5:30pm
Calendar: Academic year
Meals: Included — Morning snack included in all programs; lunch included in Blue, Yellow and Green programs

La Scuola International School

728 20th Street, San Francisco, CA 94107
Reggio-inspired · Inquire

A Reggio Emilia-inspired preschool campus in the Dogpatch neighborhood of San Francisco.

🛡️ State licensing record — Licensed · capacity 100 · 0 serious deficiencies (Type A) · 0 substantiated complaints · last inspected 3/17/2026.
CA Community Care Licensing · license 384002073. The state publishes counts and outcomes, not the allegation text — request the full report from CDSS with the control number. How to read this record →
Published tuition (from the school's own site)
  • Preschool Full Day (San Francisco campus) · 5 days, until 5:30pm; lunch + morning & afternoon snacks included — $47,300/year
  • Preschool Half Day (San Francisco campus) · 5 days, until 1:00pm; lunch + morning snack included — $37,815/year
  • Elementary K-5 (San Francisco campus) · Full day; lunch included — $48,850/year
  • Middle School 6-8 (San Francisco campus) · Full day; lunch included — $50,550/year
Fees: Clarity application (sliding-scale tuition assessment) $65
Program details (from the school's own site)
Approach: Reggio Emilia-inspired international school
Languages: Italian, English and Mandarin immersion
Ages served: Preschool through Grade 8 (Grandi 3-4 years, Grandissimi 4-5 years, K-8)
Hours: Preschool full day until 5:30pm; half day until 1:00pm
Calendar: Academic year
Meals: Included — Lunch and morning snack included in all preschool programs; afternoon snack additionally included in full day

L'Academy Language Immersion Preschool

866 Valencia Street, San Francisco, CA 94110
Reggio-inspired · Inquire

A language-immersion preschool in the Mission neighborhood drawing on Reggio Emilia and Montessori approaches.

🛡️ State licensing record — Licensed · capacity 39 · 0 serious deficiencies (Type A) · 0 substantiated complaints · last inspected 7/9/2025.
CA Community Care Licensing · license 384004915. The state publishes counts and outcomes, not the allegation text — request the full report from CDSS with the control number. How to read this record →
Program details (from the school's own site)
Approach: Blend of Montessori, Reggio Emilia and play-based learning
Languages: Spanish and Mandarin immersion with English language readiness
Extracurricular: Music / performing arts enrichment included
Ages served: 6 months to 6 years (infant, toddler, preschool, TK/Pre-K)
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30am-5:30pm
Calendar: Year-round
Meals: Included — Nutritious meals and snacks served daily
Potty-training: Not required

St. James Preschool

4620 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94118
Play-based · Inquire

A play-based preschool in the Inner Richmond neighborhood of San Francisco.

Published tuition (from the school's own site)
  • Turtle Class · 2 days (Tue & Thu) 8:45am-12:00pm — $7,670/year
  • Turtle Class · 2 days, Extended Day to 4:30pm (incl. Early Care & Lunch Bunch) — $12,500/year
  • Turtle Class · 2 days, Extended Day to 5:30pm (incl. Early Care & Lunch Bunch) — $13,430/year
  • Turtle Class · 3 days (Mon, Wed, Fri) 8:45am-12:00pm — $11,560/year
  • Turtle Class · 3 days, Extended Day to 4:30pm — $18,760/year
  • Turtle Class · 3 days, Extended Day to 5:30pm — $20,160/year
  • Turtle Class · 5 days (Mon-Fri), Extended Day to 4:30pm — $31,250/year
  • Turtle Class · 5 days (Mon-Fri), Extended Day to 5:30pm — $33,630/year
Fees: Early Care 8:00-8:45am add-on (Turtle, 2 days) $1,200/year · Lunch Bunch 12:00-1:00pm add-on (Turtle, 2 days) $1,550/year
Program details (from the school's own site)
Approach: Child-centered, play-based learning; Great Books Project (literacy), Science in Nature, Music & Movement
Languages: Spanish instruction within music classes
Extracurricular: Enrichment and Extended Day programs
Ages served: 2 to 5 years (Twos, Threes, Pre-K)
Hours: Core program 8:30/8:45am-12:00/1:00pm; Extended Day options to 4:30pm or 5:30pm; Early Care from 8:00am
Calendar: Academic year

The Learning Bridge Preschool

1050 Kirkham Street, San Francisco, CA 94122
Preschool · Inquire

A preschool and daycare in the Inner Sunset neighborhood near the UCSF campus.

🛡️ State licensing record — Licensed · capacity 26 · 0 serious deficiencies (Type A) · 0 substantiated complaints · last inspected 10/1/2025.
CA Community Care Licensing · license 384004834. The state publishes counts and outcomes, not the allegation text — request the full report from CDSS with the control number. How to read this record →
Published tuition (from the school's own site)
  • Full Time · 7:45AM - 5:30PM, M-F — $2485/month
  • Part Time · 4 full days per week — $2150/month
  • Part Time · 3 full days per week — $1810/month
  • Part Time · 2 full days per week — $1280/month
  • Hourly session · 8:30AM - 12:30PM — $100.00/day
  • Hourly session · 12:30PM - 5:30PM — $105.00/day
  • Hourly session · 2:30PM - 5:30PM — $65.00/day
  • Extended hours afternoons / Drop-In · Extended hours afternoons/Drop-In — $25.00/hour
Fees: Insurance charge (full time) $200 per year · Insurance charge (part time) $100 per year
Program details (from the school's own site)
Approach: Play-based program; "Free play and active social interactions are a part of the curriculum, as well as an academic style that helps lead a child to skills needed for success in Kindergarten." Weekly themes; multicultural curriculum.
Extracurricular: Singing, dance, art, and gymnastics classes included in the monthly tuition fee; field trips including the San Francisco Symphony "Deck the Halls" in December, spring neighborhood walks, and summer park/garden outings.
Ages served: 2-6 years (licensed by the Department of Social Services for 26 children ages 2-6, License #384004834); groups: Teddy Bears (2-3), Dolphins (3-4), Eagles (4-5, pre-K/TK)
Hours: 7:45AM - 5:30PM, Monday through Friday
Calendar: Year-round

Noe Valley Nursery School

5210 Diamond Heights Boulevard, San Francisco, CA 94131
Parent cooperative · Inquire

A play-based, parent-cooperative nursery school serving the Noe Valley and Diamond Heights area.

🛡️ State licensing record — Licensed · capacity 30 · 0 serious deficiencies (Type A) · 0 substantiated complaints · last inspected 9/4/2025.
CA Community Care Licensing · license 384002096. The state publishes counts and outcomes, not the allegation text — request the full report from CDSS with the control number. How to read this record →
Published tuition (from the school's own site)
  • Morning Program (participating/co-op model) · 9:00am-12:30pm, 4 days per week — $680/month
  • Morning Program (participating/co-op model) · 9:00am-12:30pm, 5 days per week — $850/month
  • Afternoon Program · 12:30pm-3:30pm, 1 day/week — $200/month
  • Afternoon Program · 12:30pm-3:30pm, 2 days/week — $400/month
  • Afternoon Program · 12:30pm-3:30pm, 3 days/week — $600/month
  • Afternoon Program · 12:30pm-3:30pm, 4 days/week — $800/month
  • Alternative Participation Model (higher tuition, fewer participation obligations) · Morning, 4 days/week — $1,020/month
  • Alternative Participation Model (higher tuition, fewer participation obligations) · Morning, 5 days/week — $1,275/month
Fees: Application fee $40
Program details (from the school's own site)
Approach: Play-based, child-centered, developmentally appropriate cooperative preschool; "Play-based education meets young children right where they are (curious, active, and eager)"; emphasis on exploration and imagination, nature-based projects and Glen Canyon exploration.
Extracurricular: Canyon adventures, weekly swim access, music instruction, field trips, community garden, and twice-yearly camping experiences.
Ages served: 2.6 to 5 years old
Hours: Morning Program: 9:00am-12:30pm, Monday-Friday. Afternoon Program (optional): 12:30pm-3:30pm, Monday-Thursday.
Meals: Not included — families provide food — Morning routine includes a parent-provided healthy snack and a packed lunch from home. Families are scheduled for snack duty approximately once a month (waived under the Alternative Participation model).
Staff ratios: 4:1 student-teacher ratio
Teacher credentials: Director Zac Oldenburg: 10 years in special education and early childhood. Teacher Jinan Mahmoud: 30 years preschool/elementary experience. Teacher Cassidie Clayton: Early Childhood Education certificate from CCSF.
Potty-training: Required

Miraloma Cooperative Nursery School

443 Foerster Street, San Francisco, CA 94127
Parent cooperative · Inquire

A parent-cooperative nursery school in the Sunnyside neighborhood of San Francisco.

🛡️ State licensing record — Licensed · capacity 22 · 0 serious deficiencies (Type A) · 0 substantiated complaints · last inspected 7/1/2025.
CA Community Care Licensing · license 380505313. The state publishes counts and outcomes, not the allegation text — request the full report from CDSS with the control number. How to read this record →
Published tuition (from the school's own site)
  • Half day (8:30am-12:30pm) · 2 days/week — $578.40/month
  • Full day (with extended day 12:30-5pm for all attendance slots) · 2 days/week — $1,353.30/month
  • Half day (8:30am-12:30pm) · 3 days/week — $578.40/month
  • Full day (with extended day 12:30-5pm for all attendance slots) · 3 days/week — $1,353.30/month
  • Half day (8:30am-12:30pm) · 4 days/week — $771.20/month
  • Full day (with extended day 12:30-5pm for all attendance slots) · 4 days/week — $1,804.40/month
  • Half day (8:30am-12:30pm) · 5 days/week — $964/month
  • Full day (with extended day 12:30-5pm for all attendance slots) · 5 days/week — $2,255.50/month
Fees: Application processing fee $50 · Annual fundraising pledge $1500 per family
Program details (from the school's own site)
Approach: Play-based curriculum; "developmentally-appropriate, child-centered programs in a safe and nurturing environment"; parent cooperative model with parents participating in the classroom alongside teachers.
Extracurricular: Music teacher (twice a month), Playball teacher (twice a month), Yoga, Reptile, Dance.
Ages served: 2 years 9 months up to 6 years old
Hours: 8:30am - 12:30pm; optional extended care 12:30pm - 5:00pm
Calendar: Year-round
Meals: Not included — families provide food — "We eat snack together and children bring their own food from home."
Allergy policy: Nut-free school; dietary needs accommodated at supervised community snack time.
Staff ratios: 6:1; two teachers and one or two parent teachers present daily
Potty-training: Required

Presidio Knolls School

250 10th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Progressive · Inquire

A progressive, Mandarin-immersion school in the SoMa neighborhood serving preschool and up.

🛡️ State licensing record — Licensed · capacity 180 · 0 serious deficiencies (Type A) · 0 substantiated complaints · last inspected 1/30/2026.
CA Community Care Licensing · license 384002131. The state publishes counts and outcomes, not the allegation text — request the full report from CDSS with the control number. How to read this record →
Published tuition (from the school's own site)
  • Preschool and Elementary (K-4) · 2026-2027 school year — $500 - $45,995/year
  • Middle School (grades 5-8) · 2026-2027 school year — $500 - $50,995/year
Program details (from the school's own site)
Approach: Progressive, inquiry- and project-based education combined with Mandarin immersion; the preschool program is Reggio Emilia-inspired. Students "investigate authentic questions, create meaningful work, collaborate with others, and apply their understanding in real-world contexts."
Languages: Mandarin immersion: 100% Mandarin in preschool, approximately 80% of academic time in elementary (with a daily English class), approximately 50% in middle school. Goal is bilingual and bi-literate graduates.
Extracurricular: Extended Day/Extended Care, opt-in after-school Enrichment Program (creative arts, athletics, STEM, music, languages, strategy games), clubs, arts and athletics, summer camp, and PKS Travels to Chinese-speaking regions (middle school).
Ages served: Preschool (P1, P2, P3) through 8th grade
Hours: Morning care available from 7:45 am; afternoon Extended Care until 6:00 pm for P2-G8 and 5:30 pm for P1.
Meals: The site does not state whether meals or lunch are provided. Extended care is described as including "supervised time for indoor or outdoor free play, time for snack, as well as middle school study hall," and preschool extended care includes "a late afternoon snack."

Building Kidz of San Francisco at Sunset

2540 Taraval Street, San Francisco, CA 94116
Preschool · Inquire

A preschool and daycare in the Outer Sunset neighborhood of San Francisco.

🛡️ State licensing record — Licensed · capacity 49 · 0 serious deficiencies (Type A) · 0 substantiated complaints · last inspected 2/4/2026.
CA Community Care Licensing · license 384004605. The state publishes counts and outcomes, not the allegation text — request the full report from CDSS with the control number. How to read this record →
Program details (from the school's own site)
Approach: Proprietary "Learning Through Life Experiences" (LTLE) curriculum plus a proprietary Performing Arts curriculum integrating music, dance and theater into age-appropriate development standards. Whole-child approach built on three pillars: Confidence, Commitment, and Character; play-based with focused play areas and role-play rather than worksheets.
Languages: Bilingual English & Spanish curriculum (location page). Franchise program page describes foreign language as "woven in" without naming the language (https://www.buildingkidzschool.com/programs/preschool/).
Extracurricular: Five classes a week of music, theater & dance; two Broadway-style productions annually.
Ages served: 6 weeks to 4 years at this location: Infants 6 weeks - 12 months, Toddlers 1 - 2 years, Preschool 3 - 4 years
Hours: Mon-Fri: 8:00am-5:00pm
Meals: Not confirmed for the Taraval/Sunset location specifically: the location page says the school prepares monthly meal plans with nutrient-dense choices daily, while the franchise site qualifies this as monthly meal plans where there are kitchens and fresh snacks elsewhere. Whether this location has a kitchen is not stated.
Teacher credentials: Owner/operator Stephanie Yeap holds a degree in Psychology from UC Irvine with specialized training in treating autism spectrum disorders and 15 years as a behavior therapist and early childhood interventionist. School Director Annie Ma-Reyes holds a B.A. in Psychology with an emphasis in Child Development (SFSU) and an Associate's Degree in ECE (CCSF). Teaching staff listed include a B.A. in Child Development (emphasis Early Care and Education), a B.A. in Early Childhood Education (SFSU), and an assistant pursuing an A.S. in Child Development (CCSF). All staff are described as background-checked.

Preschool approaches in San Francisco

The programs listed here include Montessori, Reggio Emilia, cooperative, play-based and progressive. New to the differences? Compare Montessori vs. play-based, read what children learn in preschool, or browse all our guides.

Montessori preschools in San Francisco

4 of the programs listed above are Montessori preschools — child-led, mixed-age classrooms with hands-on materials and long, focused work periods. New to the method? Read what Montessori is, compare Montessori vs. play-based, and see how much Montessori costs.

How much does preschool cost in San Francisco?

Preschool tuition in San Francisco depends on the program, the schedule (half-day vs. full-day), and the approach — Montessori and full-day private programs usually cost more than part-time or co-op options. Where a school publishes pricing it's shown on its listing above; otherwise ask the school for a current quote. Our guide on how much preschool costs shows how to compare the real price, and how to afford preschool covers subsidies, TK, and Head Start that can lower it.

Guides for your preschool search

How to choose a preschoolQuestions to ask on a tourHow much does preschool cost?Preschool vs. daycare vs. pre-K

Preschools near San Francisco

Preschools in Oakland, CA12 miles away · 12 listedPreschools in Fremont, CA30 miles away · 11 listedPreschools in San Jose, CA45 miles away · 12 listedPreschools in Stockton, CA64 miles away · 12 listedPreschools in Sacramento, CA77 miles away · 11 listedPreschools in Fresno, CA160 miles away · 12 listedPreschools in Bakersfield, CA250 miles away · 10 listedPreschools in Santa Clarita, CA318 miles away · 12 listedAll cities →Browse every city

Frequently asked questions

What preschool approaches are available in San Francisco?

First Cubby lists Montessori, Reggio Emilia, cooperative, play-based and progressive programs in San Francisco, among others. Each school's approach is shown on its listing.

How much is preschool tuition in San Francisco?

Preschool tuition in San Francisco varies widely by program, schedule (half- vs. full-day), and approach — Montessori and full-day private programs typically cost more. Pricing is shown on a listing where the school publishes it; otherwise contact the school. Our guide on how much preschool costs explains how to compare the real price, and how to afford preschool covers subsidies and free options.

Are there Montessori preschools in San Francisco?

Yes — 4 Montessori programs are listed in San Francisco above. Montessori classrooms are child-led and mixed-age with hands-on materials; see our guide on what Montessori is.

Are the preschools in San Francisco private?

Most standalone preschools in San Francisco are private (tuition-based). Free and lower-cost options can exist too — Transitional Kindergarten, state pre-K, and Head Start — which our guides on preschool cost and how to afford preschool explain.

How do I choose a preschool in San Francisco?

Shortlist nearby schools, then tour your top choices. Our guides on how to choose a preschool and the questions to ask on a tour walk you through it step by step.

Find & compare preschools near you →

Free. Save your shortlist, track tours and deadlines, and compare side by side.